November 7, 2010 at 2:00 am officially ends daylight savings time for 2010.  Although many Americans have differing opinions on the practice of Daylight Savings Time, it wasn’t created to confuse our internal clock.  It was instituted to use less energy in lighting our homes, by utilizing the increased daylight hours.  But did you know that the U.S time zones also change their names?  Eastern Standard  Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time, Central Standard Time (CST) becomes Central Daylight time, Mountain Standard Time (MST) becomes Mountain Daylight Time, and Pacific Standard Time (PST) becomes Pacific Daylight time. 


During the 1st World War, the United States first instituted DST as a way to save energy for war production during the longer daylight times.  Again during World War II the government required the United States to observe the time change.  Between the wars and thereafter until 1966, states chose whether or not to observe DST.  Congress passed the Uniform Time Act in 1966 which made Daylight Savings Time a standardized length of time.


Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and American Samoa do not practice Daylight Savings Time; most likely because these areas are closer to the Equator which has more consistent length of days.


So, don’t forget to set your clocks back on November 7th